Storytelling in Dubai

At the Top

I am the power that lifts the world’s head proudly skywards, surpassing limits and expectations.

Rising gracefully from the desert and honouring the city with a new glow, I am an extraordinary union of engineering and art, with every detail carefully considered and beautifully crafted.

I am the life force of collective aspirations and the aesthetic union of many cultures. I stimulate dreams, stir emotions and awaken creativity.

I am the magnet that attracts the wide-eyed tourist, eagerly catching their postcard moment, the centre for the world’s finest shopping, dining and entertainment and home for the world’s elite.

I am the heart of the city and its people; the marker that defines Emaar’s ambition and Dubai’s shining dream.

More than just a moment in time, I define moments for future generations.

I am Burj Khalifa.

Tonight we had the opportunity to ride up to the 124th floor of the Burj Khalifa and see all of the beauty Dubai has to offer. We caught the sunset overlooking the city but as soon as we stepped back out onto the observation deck, the nightlife was breathtaking. I’m more of a night person in the first place so if you give me a flight into Seattle or Orange County during the evening, I’ll take it. As much as I love seeing the coast and the city as you take off or arrive at your destination during the morning or afternoon, I love all the lights the city has to offer during the night. I don’t think you can fully appreciate where you live until you see it from above. Freeway lights looking into the distance. The city stretching out to onto the horizon. Empty spaces that haven’t been taken over by corporations. Seeing Dubai through the transition from day to night was amazing. Something I will always cherish.

Image

Image

Hymenocallis, a Middle Eastern desert flower that sparked the design

Image

Timeline of the Burj Khalifa

Image

Image

Krista and I “at the top”

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Caught the fountain show from the top of the Burj!

This entry was published on January 7, 2013 at 7:49 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

